Search Availability

About

Kona Makai 3-203 is a beautifully appointed 2nd floor condo with a partial ocean view. The owner has completely remodeled the bathroom with a walk in shower in 2015! This condo is fully equipped with everything you may need for your Vacation! Your own private Wifi network available for use as well! Air Conditioning is in the bedroom & living room for your comfort! KING sized bed in the bedroom. The bathroom has been REMODELED, complete with a wonderful walk in shower!
Building 3 is especially great because of the positioning of the 2nd private lanai. It's much cooler than any other building in the complex!

TAKE A VIRTUAL TOUR OF THE PROPERTY!

**If link is not seen above, please inquire within to receive the link!!
The Kona Makai is a beautiful sunny highly sought after Ocean Front Complex located on famous Alii Drive just 1.3 miles from Kailua Village. The Kona Makai features include lush tropical gardens, ocean front pool and spa, sunny lounge area, 2 work out rooms, eating area w/ gas BBQ’s, tennis courts, covered parking, free wireless internet, cable TV and is gated during the night for security.

TAT TAX ID: W40939318-01
**All guests are required to sign a rental agreement with Knutson & Associates Property Management in addition to purchasing a Damage Protection Plan or providing a Security Deposit if they stay at this property. Inquire within for specific details**

Features

Amenities

  • King
  • Sofa Bed
  • Communal Pool
  • Fully Equipped Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Range/Oven
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Coffee Maker
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Toaster
  • Cookware
  • Non Smoking Unit
  • Air Conditioning (Wall Unit)
  • Linens
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Iron and Ironing Board
  • High Speed Internet
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cable TV
  • Wi-Fi for High Speed Internet
  • White Sands Beach (Laaloa Beach)
  • Kahaluu County Beach Park
  • Garden

Location

  • Kona Makai

Type

  • Condominium
  • King
  • Sofa Bed

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
May 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
March 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 

Map

Reviews

Leave a Review

Property at Kona Makai 3-203

May 2019
, Bastrop, TX United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

I loved every minute of our stay at this condo. It is a perfect size for two people. I loved all the homey touches, including the padded chairs, lounge, rocker and especially the stressfree recliner and ottoman. This is a place for relaxing! We ate almost all our meals on the lanai so we could hear and watch the birds and the waves. I am a plant lover and the grounds around this condo are incredibly lush-like a mini botanical garden. And I loved sitting in front of the ocean each evening to watch the sunset. A very enjoyable experience and I would return in a heartbeat if I have the chance.

Great place

April 2019
, Bullhead City, AZ United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Very nice.

Condo rewind

April 2019
, Lakewood, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Very easy and all staff and other residents were awesome. Very helpful and willing to help if necessary.

Comfortable unit in great location

December 2018
, Mill Creek, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Perfect location in Kona Makai in that the lanai off the living room was in the shade all day which allowed us to spend as much time as we wanted on 80+ degree days. King bed comfortable, kitchen with every appliance (big and small) that one could want although we used very few electing to go out for dinners and eat breakfast and lunch in the unit. Grounds well maintained and landscaping beautiful. Cell phone calls not allowed on lanais so sitting outside was very quiet and peaceful. Only inconvenience was having only one key to the unit which I addressed with the property management company. A key is required to get in and out of the pool area so a second key should be made available. Didn't use the small fitness rooms (there are two). Plenty of parking on site and wagons available for taking groceries, etc. from your car to the stairway below the unit, as most units do not have vehicle access to the units. Liked being on the second floor with some ocean view. If we are unable to secure the unit we normally stay in when we visit the Big Island, we would definitely check on the availability of this unit. Pleasant stay. Excellent advance communication from Property Management.company Thank you.

Manager's Response

Thank you for such a detailed review, Mark! We're happy you found all the amenities of Kona Makai 3-203 to your liking, and would love to have you stay with us again in Kona. Mahalo!

Great Vacation

November 2018
, Wenatchee, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a great vacation, and our our vacation rental was just perfect. I would recommend this for anyone.

Manager's Response

Mahalo for the review, Julie! We're happy to hear that you found your stay at Kona Makai 3-203 perfect, and would love to accommodate another stay for you in the future!

Vacay home away from home on the other side of the island!

August 2018
, Hilo, HI United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
4

Everything was good... kids had a great time at the pool spent most of our stay at that area also the bbq grill is right there with the perfect ocean view/ ocean breeze...

Manager's Response

Mahalo for staying with us, and we're happy to hear that the family enjoyed their stay at Kona Makai! We hope to welcome you back to the Big Island soon!

This place is fantastic!

July 2018
, Honolulu, NH us

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a wonderful stay at Kona Makai. The unit was clean and well-stocked and a great location.

Great Accommodations

April 2018
, Mountain View, HI United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a pleasant stay and would consider coming back. We live in Mountain View and would love a local rate so we could come more often. Everything was provided.

Perfect in every way!

April 2018
, Winnipeg, MB Canada

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

I couldn't have asked for anything more. My vacation rental was clean and well equipped for my stay with a few extra essentials provided. Well located and quiet with a view of the dolphins in the morning.

Paradise!

March 2018
, Halethorpe, MD United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The condo was in excellent condition with a beautiful ocean view from the lanai.

Kona Makai unit 3-203

January 2018
, Snohomish, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Great partial ocean view condo in Kona Makai complex. Well furnished, clean and spacious condo. Price was good for time of year (Jan 2018). We would consider returning to this complex and unit.

Good condo. Great location

December 2017
, san francisco, CA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Very good location. The room was very clean. All necessary things were in the condo. Additional, beach chairs, umbrellas, beach towels, all basic needs for a great beach time was there.

Ocean front property, so just a small walk from the apartment to the ocean and you can watch yellow tangs

Great buy for the buck...

October 2017
, Worley, ID United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The conco was as shown. It's small, but sufficient, clean, and well maintained. WE picked this condo because of the price and location. We figured we weren't going to be there all that often.
Pleasantly surprised. The grounds were fabulous...(Always workers around caring for the property). I actually think the pictures could be better. The barbeque area is right next to the water, and we spent a lot of time around the area meeting other couples and enjoying the sound of the surf...
The condo is very well stocked with anything you need to cook. It was clean and well supplied with toiletries. It was perfect.
Our only constructive criticism is finding the location of the conddo. Late at night, the property location was easy. But building 3 is not. The layout can be confusing. An owner came in and helped orient us. Friendly people...
We will go there again. We have more diving and exploring to do... Thanks to the owners

Great location and view.

June 2017
, ARVADA, NA us

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
4

This Rental is well equipped,everything is just like the pictures show. Also there are Tommy Bahama beach chairs and a very good quality boogie board.
Great location short drive to restaurants and shopping. Short drive to Magic sands beach and Kahaluu Bay. Magic Sands is great for swimming and boogie boarding, Kahaluu Bay is a great snorkeling spot especially for beginners.
We also snorkeled right there at the condo, its a little tricky getting in and out of the water there, but there were tons of fish and we saw a couple turtles, we were there in late june and water was calm, don't try it if there are big waves.
Grounds around the complex are clean and well maintained, parking was easy and they had wagons for you to put your luggage in to get it the stairs leading to the condo.
I enjoyed going out in the mornings and running down the coast along Alli drive,you can run south for several miles, if you like running.
Room temperature was fine for us a/c was adequate.
We would stay here again !

Manager's Response

Aloha Lee,
Thank you so much for your amazing review on the gorgeous Kona Makai 3-203!! We hope to welcome you back again in the future!!-Knutson & Associates, Property Management

Excellent stay!

June 2017
, Wailuku, Hawaii United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

Our visit to Kona was excellent and part of this visit is due to the experience we had at this unit. The unit had everything we needed for our stay, the people we met at the facility was very friendly and kind. The location is quiet and relaxing.

Manager's Response

Aloha Leo,
Thank you so much for your amazing review on the gorgeous KM 3203!! It is so wonderful to hear that our unit was part of making your visit an excellent experience. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!!-Knutson & Associates, Property Management

Nice Condo

May 2017
, Ottawa, ON Canada

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
4

Nice condo. Clean,but smelled a bit musty in kitchen. Beautiful grounds, pool, BBQs and lava ocean front for great sunsets. Good location - could walk into Kona (about 15-20 mn walk). Condo had coolers, beach chairs and beach umbrella, as well as washer and dryer. Very handy.

Manager's Response

Aloha Mike,
Thank you so much for your nice review on the gorgeous KM 3203!! We have made note of your concern and we are addressing it so that we are able to enhance the guest experience. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!!-Knutson & Associates, Property Management

Kona Makai

December 2016
, mayerthorpe, AB Canada

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
3
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
4

Really hard to find building at midnight in the dark. Very little lighting and the numbers on the door needs to be larger (not a quarter of an inch high)

Manager's Response

Aloha Barbara, Thank you so much for your review on KM3203! We appreciate you letting us know about the maintenance concerns, we're addressing them to prevent future guests from being affected by any of that. Your suggestions are welcomed, and we want to enhance the guest experience. We sincerely hope you had a good time, and hopefully look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!! -Knutson & Associates, Property Management

Spacious lanai

May 2016
, Portland, OR United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We really enjoyed unit 3-203. The size was larger than other vacation rentals in our past, with a very spacious lanai - rather than a narrow balcony. The grounds are spotless and the birds were plenty. Loved their songs.

Manager's Response

Aloha Patricia,
Thank you so much for your amazing review on the amazing Kona Makai 3-203!! We hope to welcome you back again in the future!!-Knutson & Associates, Property Management

Fantastic stay!

December 2015
, Happy Valley, Hong Kong Hong Kong

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

The location was perfect. We could snorkel right off the front of the complex and were able to walk into town. The only downfall was the internet was not very strong and you needed to be on the lanai to use it.

Manager's Response

Aloha Katie,
Thank you for your fantastic review on our Kona Makai 3-203!! We had the resident manager reset the access point of the Wifi, and it's working much better now. We hope to welcome you back next year!!-Blake Kessner, Property Manager

GORGEOUS

December 2015
, United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5

I fell in love with 3-203! Kona Makai is an amazing complex, and I felt right at home here. Beautifully appointed, clean, just what I needed!!!

Manager's Response

Aloha Suzi,
Thank you so much for your review on Kona Makai 3-203!! We're glad you enjoyed it!! -Blake Kessner, Property Manager

Relaxed in Paradise!

November 2015
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This condo was absolutely perfect for our vacation needs. Not only was booking through Knutson easy and efficient, but they really helped make sure we were in a condo that fit our budget and worked with us to do so. Right when we walked in we felt at home in this condo. It was very clean, and the view from the lanai was gorgeous. The grounds are very well maintained. We had no issues with any appliances or fixtures and everything worked well and went smoothly. Because Kona (The big island in general) does not have a ton of sandy resort style beaches available for laying out/beach activities, we wanted to make sure we stayed in a prime location that was close to other activities. It was a 2 hr drive to amazing hiking and a little over 3 hours to the volcano. The best part about the location though was the small town vibe of the surrounding area; close to the Kona Brewery, shopping (a Sunday street fair) and great restaurants! We did find a beach down the road, magic sands beach, but it was very small and overcrowded and we stayed less than half an hour.
We already want to go back to Kona Makai! If you are looking for a cozy and comfortable home base for you to come back to once you are finished with a day of exploring, or a nice relaxing place to layout by the pool or in front of the ocean (breath taking rocky shoreline), then book this condo!

Manager's Response

Aloha Brianne,
Thank you so much for your amazing review on the gorgeous Kona Makai 3-203! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back in the future! -Blake Kessner, Property Manager

Big Island Vacation

July 2015
, Amarillo, Texas United States

Overall
1
Services from rental manager
1
Cleanliness
1
Location
1
Property condition
1

Loved the Big Island Hawaii....Very nice experience. I believe this is my favorite Island to visit.

Manager's Response

Aloha Lillian! Thank you for reviewing the gorgeous Kona Makai 3203! We understand you meant to mark "5" in all review areas, assuming "1" was the best.
Warm regards,
Blake Kessner-Property Manager

staying at the kona makai

May 2015
, United States

Overall
2
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
2

well first off the condo looked nice but after being there for a day we found that both air conditioners were broken, the shower flooded, the water alarm went off (didn't even know what that was) took awhile to figure how to turn it off, the dvd player did not work and we were GIVEN A WARNING for using our cell phones on the lani didn't know the rules, none were put in the condo and the rules were on a wall on one of the buildings didn't see them until leaving

Manager's Response

Aloha Donna!
It was a pleasure having you stay at the Kona Makai 3-203. I remember speaking with you on the phone about these concerns. We have replaced both air conditioners, just so everyone knows the good news! We're sorry they were broken when you were there.
The water alarm is a security measure that Kona Makai has to prevent flooding from affecting other units. We looked into the shower, and this should not happen again. We cleared the drain. We are replacing the DVD player, thank you for letting us know! Every guest is instructed to register with the resident manager on site, where the house rules are provided. We apologize you were inconvenienced by onsite management informing you of the rules. We do hope you will provide us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Mahalo! Blake Kessner, Property Manager

Kona 2013

November 2013
, chugiak, AK United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Noisy air conditioner

Needs towels replaced

was given wrong address on arrival

Manager's Response

Aloha!
Thank you for your feedback, we have addressed both aspects. Now the air conditioner sounds much better, and the towels are new. Respectfully, Blake Kessner, Property Manager

Kona condo review

October 2013
, Concord, California United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

It was easy to get this done online and we generally liked the place. I have 3 concerns:1. less than half a roll of toilet paper with no back up in the conco. 2. Stained and worn towels that need to be replaced. 3. Need better path lighting at night. Very dark and they water at night so the path is wet. just add some more closer spaced lights and all will be fine. We enjoyed the location and the kitchen was well supplied.
Thanks,

Great stay

October 2013

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Ironman

Great location

August 2013
, Seoul, Seoul Korea, Republic of

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

A great time in a real real real good place.
Very clean, close to everywhere, peaceful, calm... Really amazing

A nice condo

August 2013
, london, london United Kingdom

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Well maintained garden, very well equipped and a nice ocean view. We definitely recommend it... The only downside, the old shower tap very difficult to operate ...

Great location

July 2013
, Berthier-sur-Mer, QB Canada

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
4

Great location, quiet

Kona Makai 3-203

April 2013
, United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

My husband and I recently stayed at 3-203 in the Kona Makai and had a spectacular vacation. The grounds are immaculately kept, the location is superb and it's a very peaceful & tranquil environment. No loud neighbors, lights out earlier so you can get a great sleep. The room has everything you need to feel at home. We loved our stay and would definitely come back.

sweet home

April 2013
, Calgary, AB Canada

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Reservation is is gated resort.we have no problem to get in at late night. My only complain is water in swimming pool is too Cold. Our unit is clean and loaded all cooking supplies. Check out is easy as directed.

MAHALO KONA MAKAI

March 2013
, Redmond, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Kona Makai is definitely a great value. We were able to walk to town in the morning enjoy the beautifully landscaped Kona Makai Property in the day and enjoy a beautiful sunset with the ocean waves crashing right in front of us while barbecuing our fresh Kona caught fish. We will return!

Fantastic

March 2013
, Apple Valley, MI United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Wonderful place. Nice people staying there. We enjoyed every minute of our stay for the six weeks we were there.

Excellent stay.

December 2012

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

Excellent location to local attractions & services, beautiful & well maintained condo complex, we really enjoyed our stay & would love to visit again some day !

Great value

November 2012
, United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Excellent property with everything you'd need to make you feel at home.Best sunset view ever!

Great Stay!

June 2012

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

My husband and I had stayed at Kona Makai 3-203 in June 2012 for a week. There is conveniently located on Alii Drive, but very quiet. We've never heard any traffic.

The room has two lanais. The main lanai was overlooking the ocean and a beautiful garden with tropical landscaping. Having meals at lanai was very relaxing. We listened to the birds singing every morning.
The building is dated, but kept clean well arranged and have good amenities including an electric griddle, rice cooker and a ton of towels.
The pool and jacuzzi seemed newly remodeled which was very nice.

Overall, it was a great stay for the price. we definitely to love to stay Kona Makai again.

The best rental appartment we had ever

February 2012
, Millis, MA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We stayed at Kona Makai one week and we found all what we need. The place is great. We could enjoy a beautiful pool and fantastic sunset view.
There were no any sounds besides birds' songs and murmur of the surf.
All condo area looks as a tropical botanical garden.

Well de orated and clean

March 2012
, Longmount, CO United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This unit was nicely decorated with comfortable seating. The two decks were useful. Lots of supplies, cards, puzzles, books, snorkel gear and the like we're provided.

great alternative location

March 2012
, Grand Forks, BC Canada

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

we have stayed in the same condo for five years, when it was not available in 2012 we check with knutson and found great deal on a great condo. Knutson will our first choice in the future!

Great value!

October 2011
, Redwood City, CA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
3
Location
3
Property condition
4

Took a little while to get wi-fi key and cleanliness wasn't perfect (although I have VERY high standards). Overall, we thought this was very good value for money and we would recommend to others.

kona makai

April 2011
, United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
4

Kona Makai is a nice, quiet complex... nothing exceptional, but in a good location on the water, not far from town, not far from the beaches. The unit itself was clean and comfortable, and the people at Knutson were friendly and helpful. All in all, a good experience.

A Great Place to Stay...

February 2011
, United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

We enjoyed staying at Kona Makai 3-203! It was full of all the amenities that you would need and then some!

Great stay at Kona Makai 3203

December 2010
, United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Love the resort (fabulous grounds), loved the unit - not great ocean view, but not bad, and good overall location. Kitchen better equipped than many. Knutson got us a great deal and dealt quickly with some appliance repairs.